Contests: Screenplays 2017

Congratulations to the winner and finalists of the Fifteenth Annual American Zoetrope Screenplay Contest! From more than 1600 entries received, Judge Francis Coppola and the Zoetrope staff have selected a winning script. The winner and the top nine finalists are listed below, as are the semi- and quarter-finalists.

The winner of the contest will receive the grand prize of $5,000.

The winner and top nine finalists will be considered for representation by William Morris Endeavor, CAA, The Gersh Agency, Exile Entertainment, ICM, Oasis Media, UTA, The Radmin Company, Prolific Entertainment, Energy Entertainment, and Dontanville/Frattaroli. Their scripts will be considered for film option and development by leading production companies, including: American Zoetrope, Samuel Goldwyn Films, Fox Searchlight, Sony Pictures Classics, IFC Entertainment, Paramount Classics, Verisimilitude, Lionsgate, Icon Pictures, Lleju Productions and Films, Second and 10th, Working Title, Dimension Films, Frelaine, Michael London Productions, Hope for Film, Kulture Machine, Number 9 Films, Folo Films, Pretty Pictures, Roserock Films, Benderspink, Astrakan Films, Industry Entertainment, Anonymous Content, Jim Wedaa Productions, Robert Evans Company, Fortis Films, Jean Doumanian Productions, Agape Media International, FX, and Ziskin Productions.

Thanks to all who entered. We are grateful for the opportunity to read your work.

Our next contest will open in Summer 2018; check back at this website for details in May 2018.

Grand Prize Winner

Caroline's Wedding
by Easmanie Michel, France-Luce Benson, and Darcy Miller
New York, NY


Anh Sang
by Barry Brennessel
Silver Spring, MD
Ascension (Pilot)
by Jordan Trippeer
Los Angeles, CA
Aurora Falls (Pilot)
by Kadyn Michaels
Los Angeles, CA
Hope Street
by Ali Zahiri, Amisha Patel
Santa Monica, CA
by Heidi Scott
Hyattsville, MD
Other People
by Meedo Taha
Beirut, Lebanon
Post No Bills
by Robin Hays
North Vancouver, Canada
The Field
by Sally Fowler
Brooklyn, NY
The Violinist's Daughter
by Shelly Drancik
Chicago, IL


A Delicate, Scientific Instrument
by Sameer Butt
New York, NY
by Todd Rhys-Roosevelt
Burbank, CA
Big Future Ahead
by Rick Mashburn
Winston-Salem, NC
Café Herrenhof
by William Parolini
Wake Forest, NC
Daisy (Pilot)
by Ian Baaske
Chicago, IL
Garden of Delight
by Paul Grammatico
El Cerrito, CA
Last of the Burly Girls
by John Pisano-Thomsen
Toronto, Canada
My Life with Dali
by Anna Synenko
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Once Upon A River
by Haroula Rose
Chicago, IL
The Journey
by Lilia Hine
Santa Barbara, CA
The Mona Lisa Caper
by Gina Cresse
Acton, CA
by Yann Blondel
Montreuil, France
Whiskey Bent and Hell Bound
by Sean Lynch
Berkeley, CA


13 East
by Enrique Posner
New York, NY
A Perpetual Kind of Funk
by Christopher Baca
Albuquerque, NM
An American Tragedy
by Jackson DeLoach
Compton, CA
Black Car
by Will Reese, Sean London
Los Angeles, CA
Bodey's Banner
by Ernestina Juarez
Austin, TX
by Maya Slouka
Brewster, NY
Choosing Flight
by Jason Urban
Tucson, AZ
Cricket Song
by Evelyne Tollman-Werzowa
Los Angeles, CA
Crossing the Cowhouse
by David Lykes Keenan
Austin, TX
Did You Learn to Love?
by Paul William King
Mill Bay, BC, Canada
Doing Our Best
by Emme Harris
Summit, NJ
by Kym Mosley
Howard Beach, Queens, NY
by Benjamin Sandford
Melbourne, Australia
by Jason Kessler
Austin, TX
by Sheldon Shaw
New York, NY
In the Money (Pilot)
by Joe DeLuca
Montclair, NJ
by Matthew Minson
Houston, TX
by Timothy Tau
Los Angeles, CA
Little Girls
by Zoe Cheng
Los Angeles, CA
Lonely Creek
by Jared Raun
Los Angeles, CA
by Denka Wangdi
Bellaire, TX
Napoleon (Pilot)
by Kevin Karp
London, United Kingdom
On the Wing
by Lynn Esta Goldman
San Francisco, CA
by Lawrence Bogad
Berkeley, CA
by Pia Chaudhuri
Sydney, Australia
by Weam Namou
Sterling Heights, MI
Republic (Pilot)
by Faith Liu
Los Angeles, CA
Runaway Ship
by Theodore Soderberg
San Francisco, CA
Scandal of the Century
by Betsy Burke
Madrid, NM
by Paige Penningroth
Cedar Rapids, IA
Soul In Exile
by Michael Culver
Lopez Island, WA
by Alexa Green, Jacob Garber
Pittsfield, MA
The Flower Hunter
by Danny Sheehy
Brisbane, Australia
The Grand Alchemist
by Maria Soriano
Valley Village, CA
The Lumps
by Corina Maritescu
Los Angeles, CA
The Plague Doctor
by Daniel Paasch, Jeremy Westrate
Trinity, FL
Title IX
by Mona Lynch
Laguna Beach, CA
Truth Against the World
by Denise Meyers
Mars Hill, NC
by Stacey Asip
New York, NY
With Child
by Geoff McGee, Doug Detwiler
Euless, TX
Young Aleister Crowley (Pilot)
by Greg Wayne
Toronto, Canada